1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[Need Advice] Job Offer/Offer Deadline and Future Interviews

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by D-Lite, Oct 3, 2008.

Tags:
  1. D-Lite

D-Lite Contributing Member

So I'm an engineer at UT. This past week was our career fair and I got a lot of invitations for interviews. I had about 5 or so this week, and next week I have about 6.

Anyway, one of the companies gave me an offer for an internship, but the deadline to accept is October 16th. How do I go about telling the other companies that I interviewed with this past week that I have a deadline, as well as the companies that I will be interviewing with next week?

Also, after October 16th, the offer is considered 'competitive' which basically means someone else is offered that same position, and whoever accepts first will get the position.

Any help will be awesome!

Thanks

-D-lite

2. Fatty FatBastard

Ahem.

I believe you meant to say engineer major.

3. D-Lite

One more thing to add, the company that gave me the offer is one of the top on my list to work for.

4. D-Lite

yea i noticed that after I clicked submit, but no edit button for 'members' :)

5. alexdapooh

alexdapooh Contributing Member

I'm a graduating senior this semester and have asked around through many sources for advice on this situation.

A lot of these companies will try to reel you in quick for full time offers, but it's in your best interest to ask for an extension to decide upon the full-time offer compensation package. This will give you more time to interview with other companies and fully evaluate all offers to make the best decision on where you want to work.

A simple request for an extension example:

Hi XX,