1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Laid Off... Any Advice?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Pringles, Oct 2, 2023.

1. Pringles

Pringles Member

Got the news last week that I was getting laid off abruptly. The company was going through layoffs the last few months, but I was told that I'd be fine given my performance and being part of an important client engagement (I'm a management consultant).

Spent the rest of the week and the weekend either reaching out to my network or eating like ****.

Any advice on staying sane? I have a few other ventures that will keep me busy, but my productivity and motivation are shaky right now.

Exiled, ArtV, OkayAyeReloaded and 5 others like this.
  2. Haymitch

Haymitch Custom Title
    Supporting Member

Step 1: Listen to Still Fly by Big Tymers.
    Step 2: Eat some good ass food with some good ass wine.
    Step 3: Take a few days to think about what you really want to do.
    Step 4: Drink some more.
    Step 5: Argue in the GARM over whether the Rockets can waive KPJ right now or if they have to wait.
    Step 6: Think about how you just spent a bunch of time drinking and arguing over whether or not the Rockets can waive KPJ right now, and realize that this is not who you want to be.
    Step 7: Pursue the item from Step 3 that you want to do.

3. Andre0087

Andre0087 Member

Don't forget to file for unemployment, that pocket change is better than no income.

JeeberD, Pringles, ROCKSS and 4 others like this.
  4. VanityHalfBlack

I feel you dawg. Hang in there.

Pringles and Jontro like this.
  5. NewRoxFan

NewRoxFan Contributing Member

• Treat the new job search like a job, get up early, shower, get dressed. Search using Indeed, Monster, LinkedIn.