1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

How many of you actually work in/around Government?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout: Debate & Discussion' started by DonnyMost, May 27, 2005.

1. DonnyMost

DonnyMost be kind. be brave.
    Supporting Member

This is a question that has been on my mind for a while..

As many avid commentators that we have here, I'm just naturally curious as to how many of you actually work in Government, campaigns, for elected officials, etc.

Even if you used to, feel free to talk about your experience.

I'm not talking about volunteering stuff, but actual careers and jobs.

2. MadMax

MadMax Contributing Member

i'm around the courts a lot..does that count? :)

3. DonnyMost

Supporting Member

Sure. In what capacity?

4. MadMax

i'm a lawyer.

5. mc mark

mc mark Contributing Member

I work for a not for profit that writes International accounting standards for government, education, business and the private sector.

Curiously enough it is governments (and in particular the US government) that are the most reluctant to adapt regulatory standards to oversee themselves.

:)

6. No Worries

No Worries Contributing Member

Worked for a company that had contracts at NASA and DoD. Never again.

7. Mr. Clutch

Mr. Clutch Contributing Member

I interned at for a City Councilmember when I was in college. It was fun, not highly political. It was more about responding to his constituents and making sure they were happy.

In my previous job, I had to deal with RailRoad Commission officials. Lots of legal and regulatory mumbo jumbo. But it was interesting watching elected officials at hearings.

8. MadMax

i was a clerk at the First Court of Appeals after my first year of law school. forgot that one.

9. updawg

updawg Member

Work for the state

10. Sishir Chang