1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Drone owners

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Pistol Pete, Jun 28, 2019.

1. Pistol Pete

Pistol Pete Contributing Member
    Supporting Member

I’m wondering how many of you own drones for either recreational or professional purposes.

I own a Phantom 4 Pro that I currently fly as a hobbyist. I signed up for a course to prepare me for the part 107 license test that seems it will require a lot of studying especially when it comes to reading sectional charts. It doesn’t appear complicated just time consuming for a complete novice to learn.

2. bobrek

bobrek Politics belong in the D & D

What triggers having to have a license?

3. Pistol Pete

Supporting Member

Anything done with a drone for money or that could be viewed as promoting a business.

Personally, I just want to get one to learn more about the laws in the process and in case I decide to do commercial work.

#3 Pistol Pete, Jun 28, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2019
    bobrek likes this.
  4. B-Bob

B-Bob "94-year-old self-described dreamer"

It's interesting. I ended up on a major backpacking trip (well, major for me) into the Wind River, WY, range last summer, and I had this argument with some of my friends in that group.