1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Buying a car on Offerup

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by mylifesucks, Oct 9, 2017.

1. mylifesucks

mylifesucks Member

im gonna be buying a car today off offerup & this is my first time using an app or Craigslist to buy a car. What should I expect?

Really the only thing that has me worried is getting robbed. I'm trying to avoid anything that'll steer me in that position. The guy sounds legit but he said his phone broke so I've been just imessaging him & he's been using his iPad.

Still don't really know the area but he's located in the southeast side but I'm really not trying to go to an area like that for the transaction.

Any ideas and advice? Thanks

2. TMac'n

TMac'n Contributing Member

Never heard of this app, and your story about the seller sounds super shady.

I don't have any advice, but i wouldn't rely paying thousands of dollars using an app. Are you trying to buy new or used? (Sounds like used)

Nigel Thornberry likes this.
  3. davidio840

davidio840 Contributing Member

Your username is pretty sad in itself. And I wouldn't buy a car on an app from a guy you never met who said his phone is broke.. Sounds pretty fishy to me.

4. Andre0087

Andre0087 Member

Buying a used car is a crapshot right now. Just don't do it...we just went thru a historical flood and you may end up with something that falls apart in the time to come.

5. CCity Zero

CCity Zero Member

Meet in public place, make sure there's a title (a clean one), and you know what to look for (not a flood car etc etc).

Sometimes it's best to just meet at the tax office to get the title transferred then and there, if they're a legit seller they'll meet you there. You don't want to get stuck with a stolen/no title car.

donkeypunch likes this.