1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Stereo buffs?

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by Pole, Sep 13, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Pole

Pole Houston Rockets--Tilman Fertitta's latest mess.

I have an old(er) pair of Klipsch Forte II's in terrific condition, and I've decided to take the plunge and buy a tube amp for them.

Are there any audiophile's here who know if there are any good tube amps sold in the Houston area? I know I could get a used one on ebay, but I'd like to go with new as I'm a beginner in this area.

2. Kilgore Trout

Kilgore Trout Contributing Member

I am a huge audio enthusiast, but I know next to nothing about tube amps. I would suggest checking out/posting in the audio hardware sections of the following forums:

AVS Forum - most technical
    Digital theater Forum - my preferance
    Home Theater Forum

I have purchased used gear on ebay and audiogon.com. To me this was the most effective way of getting high end componets at a much lower cost. However, I think that tube amps may be more fragile that solid state amps. A good place to look for used high end stuff that is from a reputable store is at jeffssoundvalues.com

Edit: Here is some general advice
    If you are not completly set on tube's you may want to check out solid state amps. I have know idea which will sound the best with you speakers. Also keep in mind that deminishing returns set in at a certin price point.

Good luck in your search

#2 Kilgore Trout, Sep 13, 2002
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2002
  3. Doctor Robert

Doctor Robert Contributing Member

Can't really help as far as new stuff goes, but just for the info: Audiogon is where I look for used equipment. They have the biggest selection I know of.

4. Doctor Robert

Whoops, looks like KT beat me on that one.

5. Pole