1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Shohei Otani - a ten tool player

Discussion in 'Houston Astros' started by kevC, Oct 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kevC

kevC Contributing Member

2. No Worries

No Worries Contributing Member

May be a better prospect than Lourdes Jr.

3. Nippystix

Nippystix Member

May be? I don't think there is a question. I've been eyeing Otani for a few years now. The dude could be a top 5 pitcher on the planet right now, and I don't even think that that is too much hyperbole. Last I read, he was really serious about being a two-way player (maybe to the point of making it a demand if he was to come over to the states), which is scaring many teams. I see it as a perfect reason for the Astros to become a favorite to sign him. Our 1B/DH situation hasn't been great for the last few seasons. So even if he doesn't produce at the plate (the bat is looking pretty darn good by the way), we don't even have much of a potential drop-off at the DH position, but then add a legitimate ace to lead our starting rotation. That's not even the best case scenario. The best case scenario is that we land a stud hitter to be our DH AND a legitimate ace to lead our rotation.

Luhnow and company made a surprise run at Tanaka before the Yankees signed him. Just like we made a run at Jose Abreu before eventually getting Gurriel, I would be ecstatic if we were just planting our seed with Tanaka as a precursor to land an even bigger fish with Otani. The kid is a rock star there too, I could see a strong case of throwing ridiculous money at him, while opening up a huge Japanese market for the Astros to offset his cost (a la Yao for the Rockets).

4. moonsh0t

moonsh0t Member