1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

Job Search Advice

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by fallenphoenix, May 23, 2018.

1. fallenphoenix

fallenphoenix Contributing Member

Hey guys,

I've been searching for a job for almost 10 months now after quitting my old one, and I have yet to even get a call back on any of the jobs I've sent my resume to.

I'm 28 and have an MBA from Texas State. I've been applying to anything from an admin assistant to intro analyst positions for various disciplines. I have a couple years work experience as analyst for a large tech firm.

What's going on?

Inb4 Texas State sucks and "you shouldn't quit a job without having another job lined up first"

2. KingCheetah

KingCheetah Contributing Member

Have you tried Work in Texas?

https://wit.twc.state.tx.us/WORKINTEXAS/wtx?pageid=JS_POSTING_BROWSE_STATEAGNCY

fallenphoenix likes this.
  3. K LoLo

K LoLo Member

Are you applying for jobs that line up with your experience? Employers might be hesitant to even bring you in because you have more experience than required and they may have apprehensions about it thinking you'll leave for something better.

Also - could use a head hunter if you're in some sort of finance role.

fallenphoenix likes this.
  4. NewRoxFan

NewRoxFan Contributing Member

Job searching is a sales/numbers game... the more you contacts and networking you do, the better your odds. I suspect you have been using search engines like Indeed. I'd also suggest going to Between Jobs Ministries like the big one at Northwest Bible Church in Spring.

http://www.nwbc.org/betweenjobsministry