1. Welcome! Please take a few seconds to create your free account to post threads, make some friends, remove a few ads while surfing and much more. ClutchFans has been bringing fans together to talk Houston Sports since 1996. Join us!

[ADVICE] Headhunter found me on LinkedIn... wants to chat.

Discussion in 'BBS Hangout' started by eric.81, May 23, 2018.

1. eric.81

eric.81 Contributing Member

She wants to talk to me about a COO position in my field. She works for a "boutique executive search firm." The thing is, I'm NOT an executive. I've worked in my field for about 12 years (6 years at current place of business) and have a good reputation among my vendors and clients. While I excel at my current position, am the leader of my group, and have even been designated a "Subject Matter Expert" for various projects, I'm not even on a management level at my current job... A COO position would be WAY above my current career trajectory. It's not like I have an impressive degree either... basically, I'm at a loss for words as to how she was directed to me.

I've scheduled a call w/ her at 2 pm today, regardless of any misgivings. I have no idea what company or firm contracted her to find their COO. As I'm currently gainfully employed, I have nothing to lose and am going to shoot my shot and see what happens, but this may be a position I am vastly under-qualified for.

Any advice? I haven't interviewed for a job in at least 3 years... and again, I'm in over my head here. Can my fellow clutchfans members help with some words of wisdom?

Thanks all...

CometsWin likes this.
  2. DonkeyMagic

DonkeyMagic Contributing Member
    Supporting Member